Cockfosters vs CTFC

August 24, 2019
Score: 0 - 4

Match Report

After an unbeaten start to their league season, Coggeshall headed to Cockfosters for a potential “banana skin” FA Cup tie, in a competition well known for its upsets. Manager, Graeme Smith made a couple of changes to the starting eleven in attempts to keep his side fresh, after 3 games in 7 days. Ross Wall and Curtis Haynes-Brown were reintroduced from the start, whilst Tyler Brampton and Matt Lock took their place on the substitutes bench.

The Town started the game on the front foot and had two chances to open the scoring, however the ‘Fosters Keeper, Adam Seymour was on hand to make a smart double save to deny Nnamdi Nwachuku and then Wall.

After their bright start, Coggeshall struggled in the blistering heat to maintain their momentum or create any goal scoring opportunities. The home side on the other hand, were looking to maintain the SeedGrowers and almost caught them out with a quick counter attack, however a last ditch tackle from Haynes-Brown prevented the home attack, as the Town were looking for their first clean sheet of the season.

After the Referee stopped the match for a well needed drinks break, it gave the visiting management time to speak to their players, and whatever was said, appeared to do the trick. After winning a succession of corners, Conor Hubble delivered a danger cross in to the box, on to the head of Nwachuku who headed home to give his side the lead with ten minutes to goal until the break. Before the internal, the SeedGrowers almost had a second, however a free kick from Tevan Allen drifted just wide.

HALF TIME: Cockfosters 0-1 Coggeshall Town

Having improved prior to the half time whistle, Coggeshall started the second half in impressive nature with Nwachuku capitalising on a poor back pass but his effort straight at Seymour before Allen fired just wide from distance. George Cocklin was then replaced by Matt Lock, in a change which appeared to kick the visitors in to next gear.

Hubble was denied after a good save from Seymour, before being fouled inside the penalty area with the Referee having no choice but to point to the penalty spot. Up stepped Nwachuku, who converted his second penalty in as many games, and his second goal of the game. 2-0 to Coggeshall. Moments later, Nwachuku thought he had his hat-trick as he tucked the ball in to the net again, however it was this time ruled out for offside. The Town then made their second change, as Michael Gyasi was introduced in place of Mehki McLeod.

Gyasi made an immediate impact, after exchanging passes with Wall, he hit an effort from long range on to the frame of the goal, before Nwachuku was only able to divert the rebound wide from close range. That was Nwachuku’s last involvement in what was an impressive display, as he was replaced by Aryton Coley. Like Gyasi, Coley mad an instant impact as he forced Seymour in to a fine save, and the Fosters shot stopper was having an impressive afternoon.

Sub, Gyasi then won his side a second penalty of the afternoon. His trickery down the left, saw him break in to the box before being wiped out by a late challenge. In the absence of Nwachuku, Hubble stepped up and dispatched the penalty kick in to the same corner as Nwachuku did – 3-0.

Not content with their three goals, the SeedGrowers made it four-nil in double quick time and what a goal it was. After good play from Coley and Wall, the ball arrived at the feet of Gyasi who completed an audacious turn before unleashing a powerful effort beyond Seymour and in to the back of the net.

Whilst their opponents began to tire, Coggeshall continued to dominate and were awarded another penalty, for handball this time. However Hubble stepped up and saw his effort saved by Seymour who was rewarded for an impressive display.

FULL TIME: Cockfosters 0-4 Coggeshall Town.

Attendance: 120


Adam Seymour, Cameron Lyttle, Joel Nakatani-Brown, Matthew Thomson, Danny Haigh, Nick Mountford, Ceykan Karagozlu, Ryan Carroll, Ryan Wade, George Beattie, Reece Mosyana.


Billy Healey, Josh Bradley, Sam Ruff, Robbie Carroll, Alex Michalides, Harley Haag, Bradley Robinson.

Coggeshall Town

Ashlee Jones, David Agboola, Curtis Haynes-Brown, Conor Hubble, Dexter Peter, Joshua Pollard, Mehki McLeod, Tevan Allen, Nnamdi Nwachuku, Ross Wall, George Cocklin.


Tyler Brampton, Matt Walker, Daniel Cunningham, Tom Blackwell, Aryton Coley, Matt Lock, Michael Gyasi.

Match Photos – Cockfosters FC V Coggeshall Town – 24.08.2019

Flickr Album Gallery Powered By: WP Frank